Is God a liar?

Do you believe that God created the universe?

Well, yes, of course.

Do you believe that He created man?  Created you?

Yes.

Do you believe that God makes Mistakes?

No.  Thats what makes Him God, right?

So then, if you believe that God does not make mistakes and you believe that He created you, then you are not a mistake.

For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth.  Psalm 130: 13-15

I know, I have a purpose…I know…but I dont feel like I am enough.  I feel inadequate.  I’m too fat, too ugly, to mediocre, too skinny…I dont like my eyes, my chin, my hips.  Im too shy, too awkward. There are things in my past Im not proud of….The arguments of inferiority are many, but the reasons all the same.  I feel inadequate.  Im just not enough.

Self esteem is something so many of us struggle with.  The feeling of being inadequate.  I know, for most of my life its been a very real struggle for me.  Ive felt like I wasnt smart enough, Ive felt like I wasnt physically desirable.  Ive wondered if I was nice enough, fun enough, exciting enough.  Adding true limitations from chronic illness and miscarriage to that already damaged self view and I was really struggling to love that face in the mirror.

Am I enough?  I didnt feel like I was enough.

But then, the above conversation happened with a friend.  He told me, to assume that I was inadequate, was to assume that God somehow made a mistake.  And if I believed that God made a mistake, well then, I dont believe that God is who he says He is at all.  If I believe that I am inadequate, then I believe that God is a fraud.

Those words hit me like a ton of bricks.  Believe God is a fraud?!  Absolutely Not!  That simple conversation changed my outlook and my heart.  I still have days and moments of self doubt.  But, I am able to quiet those feelings by finding peace in the promise that my God does not make mistakes.  I am enough in Christ.

Moses is a great example of how someone who was seemingly inadequate by man’s standards, is exceptionally equipped for the plan God had for him.  Moses, was an adopted prince, turned nomad murderer.  An outcast.  No one to claim him, but the beasts of the wilderness.  Moses mistakes allowed him to be in the exact position God needed him to be to do great things.  God told Moses, through the burning bush, that He needed him.

“But who am I, that I should go to Pharaoh and bring the Israelites out of Egypt?”

And God said: “I will be with you” 

God lays out His plan and commission for Moses.

Moses answered: “What if they do not believe me or listen to me?”

Then God proceeded to give Moses miraculous signs to prove He was in control, to prove He could be trusted.  God took the time to prove himself to Moses.  Lets not forget this entire conversation is occurring via a non burning, burning bush.  In my opinion God went above and beyond to prove his authority to Moses.  You wont believe Moses response:

“O, Lord, I have never been eloquent, neither in the past, nor since you have spoken to your servant.  I am slow of speech and tongue.”

If I were God, I would probably be getting a smidge annoyed by now, by Moses whining and lack of trust.

The Lord said to Moses: “Who gave man his mouth? Who makes him deaf or mute? Who gives him sight or makes him blind? Is it not I, the Lord?  Now go, I will help you.”

But Moses is acting very much like my three year old, and continues to protest.

And Moses said: “O, Lord, please send someone else”

And like most parents who have asked their kids umpteen times to do one simple thing, Gods anger burned against Moses.  Ill give the “catch up” version of Gods response.

“Look, Moses, Ive got this covered.  Your brother Aaron, who is a great speaker is on his way to meet you.  He’s going to talk for you. Ive given you the ability to preform miracles and some pretty specific instructions on how and when to use them.  Now get a move on it!”

And like most children, once they have pushed their parents to the brink of rage, Moses decides, very begrudgingly, to comply with Gods request.  But he continues doubt and question.  Moses repeatedly cries out to God about His plan to deliver Israel.  Time and time again, God reveals His plan to Moses.  Time and time again, God proves to Moses that He is in control and that His plan will prevail.  And we all know how the story ends.  God does deliver the people of Israel and He does it by using Moses, a guy with a stutter who had a history of being a murderer.  A guy who, lets face it, was previously failing at life. So, if God can use Moses to do big things,like deliver an entire nation from slavery, I think He can use just about anyone to do anything.

And then there is this, not only, does God not create mistakes, He also provided his perfect son, to die for us as a sacrifice, so that, when He looks at us, He doesnt see sinful and ugly  and self doubting people.  When He looks at His children, through Christ, He sees perfection and absolute beauty.  When you receive the gift of grace Christ offers, your sins are cast from you, your imperfections covered, fully and completely.

Repeat after me:

I AM ENOUGH IN CHRIST.

Say it again:

I AM ENOUGH IN CHRIST.

If you are like me, you may need to say it at least 300 times a day to remind yourself.  But its true.  Its always been true.  God does not make mistakes.  God can use any person, in any circumstance to do really big things.  Our feelings of inadequacy dont change the fact, that God is God.  We can choose to dwell on our imperfections, limitations and insecurities.  We can choose to continue to feel inadequate.  OR, we can choose to take peace in knowing that we are enough.  We are made perfect in all of our imperfections.  God doesnt care if you stutter, He doesnt care about past sins, He doesnt care about physical appearance.  What God cares about is having you near now and into eternity.  God loves you.  All of you.  We are enough in Christ.  Say it.  Claim it.  Find peace in it.

 

Leave a Reply

